are wings worth it?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scubaboy10

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
im just got into diving and im buying some gear but im wondering if and plate and a wing are worth it? theres a package a diver supply for 279 which sounds like a pretty good deal. i am a complete beginner and was wondering why someone would want them. does it feel better?

Oh boy, you just opened a can of worms. These threads tend to explode.
There are many many threads already beating this subject to death. Do a search then commit to about a weeks worth of time straight to get through them.

But if you want my opinion, yes they are worth it and the only way to go, IMO.
There are many people on this board, people working in dive shops, gear manufacturers, etc., that will tell you contrary, and there are a lot of BP/W people here that are totally pro BP/W.
I am a minimalist and don't believe in a lot of fluff in dive gear. I like very simple streamlined gear and a plate and wing is about as basic and functional as you can get.

My suggestion would be to buy a BP/W first and use it, then borrow or rent a jacket style BC and see the difference. If you like the plate/wing you haven't lost anything. If you like the jacket BC it's easier to sell a BP/W then it is a jacket and the resale is better. BP/W are in very high demand.