PADI IE (Right wing instructor thoughts!)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Belushi

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
I am PADI MI/IDCS. I am an instructor with other agencies and by far the most efficient and "on-the-ball" agency is PADI

As far as the courses go, I am 100% behind PADI upto and including DM.
However, after this my views change radically. I am, I guess fairly right wing in my views. Mainly because it disagrees with their "lets make money fast" philosophy I have chosen not to teach PADI anymore. I am seeing the industry change. I do not think it is for the good.

I would like to see AI do a six month internship with a dive centre. I believe that CMAS do that (well some of the Germans do VDST/Barrakuda) This would give them a wide range of teaching experience. How many AIs can service their own regs? How many can drive a boat? How many can operate a compressor?
At least two out of these three are vital to a dive store.
Servicing and compressor use should be in the AI course.

I would also like to see that only MSDTs and above can teach DMs. How can a newly qualified OWSI teach DM? He has no real experience in "instructor life" How is that you have to teach DM/IDC candidates to buddy breathe? Because it is optional no one teaches it!

Once both of these have been completed, then the present IE should be a breeze. Then they should tighten it up. More emphasis on professional attitude and teaching ability.

Belushi: