Just got bent

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Keilidh

Reaction score
Here's my story, I hope that everyone avoids the mistakes I've made. I'm a male diver, 29 yrs old, in good health, and usually sensible about my diving. I've been diving since 1999, and currently an AOW with nearly 40 dives.

I did two shore dives on Thursday 23/8/2001, max depth was 15m, with 60 min surface interval. Then I did another two dives on Friday 24/8/2001, max depth was 15m, surface interval was 90 min. On Friday I performed safety stops for both dives (5m/3 min).

I was wearing a skin suit, water temp was 29 degrees (nice and warm), consumed little air, no currents, I was well-hydrated, didn't drink alcohol, and didn't smoke, also got plenty of sleep before Friday diving. However, water entry and exit was a bit tough, since there were some high tides.

I was out of the water at 2:15 pm, my Aladin Air X gave me a 5 hour no fly time. Full de-saturation reading was about 14 hrs.

The divemaster (PADI course director) looked at my computer and said, "I don't like the Aladin Air X, they're too liberal. Be careful with them." I disregarded his advice.