$2k HID lights - what is so magical about them?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mtbr

Contributor
Reaction score
How much should those $2k HID light really worth?

I am new to Tech - recently passed my GUE recreational fundy. As I'm shopping for gear (dry suit and light), I come to realize Tech diving is not cheap.

Other than a precision regulator and dive computer, I can not see how the industry command such a high premium. My bp/w cost more than a new Atomic regulator and it's just webbing, steel, and urethane bladder.

I know R&D cost money, but how much of this is driven by Marketing hype?

Low production runs mean high costs. Limited distribution chains mean high prices, with a doubling of the price at each step in the chain. Multiply by two for anything that is for "diving" and again by two for anything that is "Tech."

Many things are way over priced, what until you get trimix fills.

You can get a very nice light for under $1000. Be patient.

Every time I think about my diving costs I compare it to the money my brother spends on hot rods or how much my buddy spends on guns.

This sport isn't all that bad!

With the advancements being made in the LED and other lamp technologies, HID will soon be a memory. HID is way overpriced, even in the general consumer market. Add diving and tech diving to the equation and the costs goes off the charts.