Problems with weight pockets

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

unit240

Reaction score
Anyone else had problems with weight pockets ditching themselves without you finding out until it's too late. I've been diving an Oceanic Probe for 2 years now and in the last 6-7 months have lost one of the weight pouches at least 2 times. Once I went to the surface even after flaring and exhaling, this past weekend it has resulted in a lost pouch and weight. I am considering just going with a weight belt. Anyone else had this problem?

Does your probe use the wieght pockets with little white plastic sticks????

If it is that version you have to make sure the plastic stick goes in just right, otherwise it isnt locked. I had them drop out on my Probe several times. Rolled out of zodiak on a night dive made my descent and found an identical weight pocket to the ones my BC used great!, then realised it was mine, how lucky was I.

I just upgraded from the Oceanic Chute II to the new Chute III for the same reason. The new QLR system uses velcro and a locking snap. So far it's been solid as a rock.

I never lost a weight pocket from my old one, but came close once or twice. The "sticks" would warp and start to slide out.

I solved the problem by configuring the weights so they were stacked on top of one another in the back of the pocket instead of next to each other in the bottom row. I have no idea why this worked, but it did. After that, I went six years without a problem.