to log or not to log....

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RYCO

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
how many of you log every dive? why do it? im not saying not to do it, im asking why? if to seek further training, do the instructors look at your booklet? or do they go off what you tell them?

or is it more like a journal?

im new at this and just trying to understand.

Like a journal! I have dives going back a long time and I get to relive some of them by simply reading my log.

Sometimes you need your logbook because dive certs get messed up or rating changed. Computer logs don't make it! They aren't signed...

Always get your buddy to sign your log entry and do the same for them.

Or don't log...

Richard

Like rstofer, I enjoy going back and reading my log book entries from time to time. I recommend keeping a logbook, but ... to each his own.

Like a journal! I have dives going back a long time and I get to relive some of them by simply reading my log.

Sometimes you need your logbook because dive certs get messed up or rating changed. Computer logs don't make it! They aren't signed...

Always get your buddy to sign your log entry and do the same for them.

Or don't log...

Richard

I agree I do the same

For PADI, before completing the Dive Master course, you need to have at LEAST 50 logged dives. So yes, instructors will look at it to make sure you qualify to finish the course.
:coffee: