Looking for Shore Dives in Keys

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BigAirHarper

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm headed to the Keys in 2 weeks and was wondering if there are any good shore dives that can be done? I'm doing some boat dives but wanted to supplement it with some a shore dive or 2. It doesn't have to be spectacular as I am new to diving, just as long as there is something to look at. Any suggestions would be great.

Nope. Not really. I suppose you could splash around in 8 feet of water and look at small fish in the sea grass. Some people dive under some of the bridges but you really gotta know what you're doing because of the strong tidal flows and boating traffic.

Best bet is to drive up to the Ft Lauderdale area and there is some decent shore diving there.

Well, I could also make a stop in the Ft. Lauderdale/Miami area so any good shore diving spots there would be great.

Also check into the Blue Heron Bridge. Unlike the bridges over the cuts in the Keys, this one is a relatively easy and popular dive site.

Wow that sucks, we aer almost there now. Stopped in Miami so we can go to the Boat show tomorrow and maybe Sunday an are planning to hit he Keys Monday-.

Anyone on this board around ?

Andy