Dive Buddy Qualifications

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Scubabaer

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to diving with only 3 dives since my OW June 1 of this year. Those 3 dives were with a group from my LDS. Each time I was buddied with someone with more experiance. Although they were very nice and patient I felt like the kid in school who never gets picked becouse he's not good enough. Or as though they were "stuck" with me. Then the feeling worsened after reading the article in Rodale's about solo diving and some posts on this board. All with very valid arguements.

The seasoned diver either feels he/she is babysitting the newbie or doesn't feel safe becouse of the lack of the newbie's experience in an emergancy. Two newbie's together isn't safe becouse neither has the experience in an emergancy.

So, I was wondering how you seasoned divers feel about hooking up with a much lesser experienced diver.

If I were you I would have a talk with your freinds or find some new ones.

I dive with all kinds of people. As long as the dive is appropriate for us as a team I don't mind the diver being new. I could name plenty of new divers who are fine buddies. Don't get me wrong I expect that the diver hold up their end of the bargin, which is to be as good a buddy as they can. I there is a performance problem during the dive, we handle it as required, talk about it afterward, correct it and go on.

Scubabaer,
First of all, welcome to the board.