Rubber vs crushed neoprene

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

perpet1

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
I am looking to buy a drysuit that I need to last at least 250 -350 dives. I am an Instructor and I will be using this suit a lot. I am a transplant to the northeast and I will be diving year round including icediving.

I have done some of research (on this board / online / and word of mouth) and there seems to be a couple different schools of thaught.

Rubber and high end crushed neoprene (2mil).

What do you use and what are the benifits? For the diving I am going to be doing I have pretty much ruled out trilam unless somone has a compellling arguement.

Rubber, much cheaper than tri-lam or crushed neoprene and very easy to maintain and repair.

These suits are very durable, try:

Hunter
Amron
Viking

Good luck on whatever suit you decide on...

Jeff Lane