Uwatec Galileo SOL vs Uemis Zurich SDA

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sergio Buonanno

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I’m a software engineer and diving enthusiast and I owns a Uwatec Galileo SOL for 3 months. Last week I was lucky to test the Uemis SDA and I’m here to give you some impressions after comparing Uemis ZURICH SDA against my Galileo SOL.
First of all it couldn’t pass unnoticed the outstanding OLED display of Umeis’ SDA. This is for sure its strongest point as Galileo LCD’s is its weakest.
The Uemis SDA’s OLED display is perfectly visible in all conditions even in cloudy water with visibility less than 1m while Galileo’s LCD in cloudy water or darkness shows all its limits. At maximum contrast the situation is slightly better but is not enough. Increasing Galileo’s contrast introduces another drawback, you won’t read menu items when selected.
Galileo’s Polar Heart Beat sensor gives further data to calculate workload and decompression times and it is really a nice and useful feature. Another advantage of Galileo is the presence of a compass that Uemis’ SDA hasn’t.
While I didn’t experience any problem with Uemis’s tank transmitter (but I used it just once for a 45 minutes dive with max. depth of 21 meters), my Galileo from time to time loses signal for a few seconds and to fix it I must move the wrist near the first stage.