Is there a function benefit to different masks? Or decide on "fit" only?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Rutger

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
So, I lost the mask I have been diving on for the past 5 years. IT was the first mask I ever bough, large, single-pane, seemed to fit my face, never had any leak issues, was a bit pricey, but for 5 years of problem-free service, I can't complain.

Now that I actually know what I'm doing, and have been buying all manner of dive gear for purpose, I'm in the habit of researching and shopping around. With masks, all it did was expose that my options are....infinite.

So, is there any need to put that much, if any thought into a mask, or should I do what I did the first time, walk in to LDS, Grab the one that looks good, see if it fits face, buy, dive.

Thought?

ps. Tomorrow...same question inre: Snorkel. Which I also lost.

Mask: Frame-less and low volume. I find them more comfortable, more visual range and more likely to fit compared to most others I have tried. Like you said, go with what works.

Snorkel: I haven't used one since OW class. But that just opened up a can of worms. When I snorkel, I use one that is comfortable in my mouth and lightweight...and cheap.