My First Drysuit

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jeffman

Registered
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm just getting into SCUBA diving in my area (Vancouver, Canada) and am now building up my own equipment. Right now I have a mask, snorkel, and brand new Tusa xpert zoom fins (along with deep sea boots). My friend and I are about to take our PADI open water certification, and have recently been snorkeling at one of the dive spots we hope we will go to. Right now we only have shorty wetsuits, which are fine on the surface, but if you dive down 10-20 feet, it’s a different story. The water temperature drops and it is only possible to stay down for 10 seconds. As this is as warm as the Vancouver water will get, I would like to look into a dry suit of my own. I will be taking the dry suit certification with my PADI. What I'm getting at is I want to ask a few questions about fry suits. My first is, could I free dive with a dry suit, as in just go snorkeling. If I had the money, I would look into a wetsuit for snorkeling, and a dry suit for diving but I don’t at the moment. My dive shop has a special for a Tusa Titanium dry suit for $600 CAN I think. Would free diving with a dry suit be very hard, or should I really consider getting both a dry and wet suit?

Thanks for your help,
Jeff

yes, you can freedive with a drysuit. of course you will need some weight to get down and you will experience some squeeze which could get quite uncomfortable if you go deep.

Jeffman once bubbled...
Hello,