Side Mount Light mounting options

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

CamG

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Greetings fellow SM'ers I have been experimenting with different light mounting options for a several months.
I was just interested in what others have done and why?
I am thinking of helmet with two back up lights with a primary "hands free mount" on the front.
The canister butt mounted or the upside down on one side of the soft plate.
These are just thoughts and I am really open on options as I have yet to find just what really feels good.
If you have a particular way to run your chord please share as well.
I have been attempting to clean my rig and make it as streamlined as possible.
I am diving the modular Nomad with the back weight addition.
Thanks for the idea's and advice.

CamG Keep diving....Keep training....Keep learning!

I have mine butt mounted. Under the crotch strap and bolt snapped to the rails. Cord runs between the waist strap and the wing and under my shoulder to a Goodman handle. I have an extra long cord so when I am diving with a helmet, it comes up behind my right shoulder to my helmet. Backup lights get clipped to the upper D-ring and velcro'd into the loops on the shoulder pads, or if diving with a helmet, they're mounted on the sits. All three were focused to about 15' away so it's pretty intense with all three of them on the helmet.... If I'm diving a helmet, all three stay on the whole dive