GUE Fundies For New Diver

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

kevindwhite

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
When is the right time to take a GUE fundamentals class? I have an opportunity to take a GUE fundamentals class late December with Bob Sherwood and am wondering if I am ready or not. I am still new to diving, less than 20 dives, so my skills are very rudimentary. For example, I definitely need to work on my buoyancy control and the only kick I know are the basic flutter and scissor. I have all the required equipment already except for a dry suit and doubles. I have never used either.

You don't need a drysuit or doubles for Fundies. But a drysuit may help, depending on water temps in the area you are planning on taking the class, in regards to your personal cold tolerance.

With less than 20 dives, you may actually be an ideal candidate for Fundies. You will be learning proper trim, good bouyancy control, and a toolbox of kicks, along with how to plan your dives and gas for those dives, and you will also learn about Nitrox and it's benefits as well.

BTW, my UTD Essentials class (very similar to Fundies) wasn't finished before I had 20 logged dives, FWIW.

Peace,
Greg

The Primer Class, not fundies. Call Bob S to discuss...

Either one of the 2 classes would be good! You have not developed bad habits from years of diving, so you could make great gains in either of the classes:D