Balancer for battery charging?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Potapko

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Do any of the manufacturers use a balancer in their scooters between the cells? I know they are used in model airplane batteries and with some kinds of batteries can be needed.
With what battery types are they a good idea and where would a balancer be a waste of money?

Any help is appreciated

I'm not an electrical engineer, so I may be corrected, but I am a hard core DIY guy and have worked with all three battery technologies quite a bit.

A balancer would be a waste of money and reduce efficency of the circuit for the type of batteries used in all of the scooters I'm aware of today. Because all of the cells within each bundle are of the same type and used at the same rate they do not get out of balance. They drian at the same rate and charge at the same rate unless a cell is bad, which a balancer would not fix anyway.

The only exception I could think of would be if the scooters uses two seperate cell bundles for it's power supply, but the batteries are charged seperatly befofre use. And even then it would only apply if a person were to use the two cell bundles when they were very far off in state of charge to start with, like using one fully charged and one only half charged battery pack.

The particular batteries in question are two 12V 18ah Lead-acid gel cells. Connected in series.

Thanks