Cairo at end of January - taking quick sidetrip to Hurghada, questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

GoHokiesGo

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
My wife has a work conference in Cairo coming up during the last week of January, so I've decided to tag along for the trip and do some sight seeing in Egypt.

I'm planning a side trip from the Tues-Thurs to head down to Hurghada for a day or two of diving on the Red Sea. I'm still a beginner diver with only a handful of dives under my belt, and I usually only dive 1-2x a year when I get to warmer climates for vacation.

Does anyone have any recommendations for a dive operation that I should book a day trip with? I'll need to rent gear while there, so it'd be nice to go with a shop that has good quality gear. Are there any specific dive sites that are better suited to less experienced divers, mainly shallower depths with a lot to see? Is it even warm enough for diving in January?

Also, is there any chance that someone else will be there that same week or a local diver that would like to meet up? I'll be making the side trip by myself since my wife will be working, so it'd be great to meet up with a friend while there! :cool2:

Thanks for the help!

~Jason

My wife has a work conference in Cairo coming up during the last week of January, so I've decided to tag along for the trip and do some sight seeing in Egypt.