Y'all snagged another one...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

50Fathom

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hello all. New to the forum, but wanted to share that I am a recent Fundies graduate, and well, you’ve assimilated another one. I apologize in advance for the length, but I’ll try and be brief.

I won’t bore you with the entire class report, (though I will answer any subsequent questions), but I will say that I found the class challenging and rewarding and it’s totally changed the way I dive.

I came about to GUE/DIR via a circuitous route. I was certified in 2009 and took to diving immediately, doing it as often as I could. I pursued all the training I could get and I was intrigued by the whole “DIR” concept and philosophy.

I was in the Army from 2004-2009, so GUE’s uniformity, standardization, procedures, protocols, and all that made sense, even if at times, I rebel against authority and uniformity, (my personality is less like R. Lee Ermey in Full Metal Jacket and more like Bill Murray from Stripes.)