The old tipping question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

LynnB

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Ok I know what I normally tip the DM per person on my dives and just curious to see it they are inline with what other divers normally tip in Key Largo...

What do you tip per tank? Do you tip DM and Captain or do they split?

Thanks in advance for replies to this discussion.

As a guide guide,I do not tip nor expect to be tipped...I find diving for a living is reward enough.
I have been given a $500usd Suunto dive computer for one diver for five days of diving and a dollar beer for 25 divers for two weeks of diving. Enjoy the experience, dive safe and stop worrying about the small stuff.

"living life without a hard bottom"
KT

In many parts of Florida, DM's (or guides) are volunteers and are in the water for the free dives and the tips. They take on a fair amount of responsibility considering that the only compensation is a free dive. If the DM/guide is good, I normally tip between $15 and $20 on a two tank dive. In palm beach county, the deck hand and DM (and sometimes the captain) normally pool the tip money and split it up in some fashion. I almost always hand the tip to the DM rather than the cap't or deck hand but I am sure you can give the funds to any of them.