Seeking advise for my first BP/W purchase.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Goldorak

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Howdy fellow aquanauts,

I'm a novice diver with about 200 dives and decided that it's time to buy my own equipment instead of using my friends gear.
Problem is that I can't make up my mind about which BC to get, even after countless hours of searching on the internet and talking with a couple local dive shop owners. So I hope you guys will be able to help me out a bit. I understand that everyone will have a different opinion, but that's exactly what I'm looking for anyway.

I'm doubting about follow BP/W BC's:

- Halcyon Infinity + Eclipse 40lbs wing
- Poseidon BESEA BCD - W50
- Dive Rite Transpac + Voyager EXP 40lbs
- Hollis HTS 2 + S Series Single tank

My selection criteria (besides obviously being proven and safe):
1. Comfortable (I'm 190cm, 6foot2.8" tall, 110kg(242lbs))
2. Able to grow with me into technical diving
3. Good lumbar support (bad back)
4. DIR accepted
5. Price
6. Look good (why not :))

I mainly dive in water temperatures ranging from 30C(86F) - 15C(59F), with wetsuits ranging from diveskins to 3mm to 7mm.

Is there something I'm overlooking in terms of important requirements?

Thanks in advance everyone, I really hope to learn something from this thread! :wink:
Oh.. and please, pretty please be kind and don't make it a flamewar :no:

what have you dove with as a bc? what did you like/not like? do you need much weight?