Fins and Mask for Newbie

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BluewaterSail

Happy in Doubles
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi All-knowing Scuba Sages!

I am a newbie still using rental equipment. I want to start buying my own equipment so that I can concentrate on learning using one consistant set-up. Also, the rental equipment I have used has me a little concerned for my safety.

I want to learn correctly so I don't need to break bad habits. Before the year is out, I will be taking a Primer course I hope. I want to make sure that any equipment I buy now will be acceptable for this course and maybe future Fundies.

I am quite clear on the BP/W and that a regulator needs a long hose.

Are there any special requirements for fins and mask, except for no split fins?

I was looking at the website for Force Fin, and it has been highly spoken of on SB, but would Force Fin Pro be acceptable to GUE? Not sure if I want to pay that price anyhow, with so many things to buy, but it does look nice!

Any advice would be appreciated.

Last edited:
they're expensive... Dunno about DIR compatible as I'm not DIR.
BUT! for fins, the old school all black heavy things are the way to go.
Scubapro Jet Fins
Hollis F1 Bat Fins
OMS Slipstreams
Those seem to be the choice. I'm sure there are more, spring straps are generally considered mandatory though.

As far as mask, I think any low volume black skirted mask will work. Doesn't have to be expensive, also doesn't have to be Halcyon.
Equipment Configuration | Global Underwater Explorers