Not Touching the Stove (or, applying concepts from class to RL)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

lv2dive

Formerly known as KatePNAtl
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
So I have been fairly immersed in GUE-thinking recently: over the course of two months, I've taken 2 fundies classes (class report/s in the works) and a drysuit class. I started training with GUE with the primary goal of improving my skills as a diver, and while I had an open mind and expected to learn about the background behind the philosophies, I didn't expect to "buy into" most of the concepts (especially gear standardization). Now, I'm not saying that I've reached the point where I 100% buy into everything I've been taught, but without a doubt, the education I've received has changed the way I think.

And, that can be annoying. It's one thing to make decisions based on ignorance, quite another to have the knowledge to realize that choices I make may impact my safety - however marginally - and realize that I can't make in good conscience make those choices anymore.