Thinking of switching to sidemount

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mutiny360

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I have been thinking of switching to sidemount. I've been diving doubles for over 2 years, and really like it. I dive with a halcyon plate and harness and like the simplicity. I am thinking of switching because of the freedom of movement and I like the positioning of valves vs. on my back. I have a few questions though:

I usually dive dry, how is managing the air inside the suit without the backplate? Also I usually use a small argon bottle, would it just be easiest to butt mount it?

I have 2 large pockets on my drysuit, how much of a hassle is it to get into them with the tanks running down your side?

Thank you

how would managing air be any different? There is still a backplate unless you are using the razor type harness in which case I have no idea... I don't dive that unit dry, only wet...
You can stick that most anywhere, can lights often times get butt mounted, but the argon bottles can still tuck in between the main bottle and you.
Depending on where the pockets are depends on how easy/hard it is. Moving pockets is also not all that difficult, not that pretty usually, but not that hard

Yes, I am looking at razor style harness. Pockets are upper thighs.