Metal Backplate vs Comfort Harness for Doubles

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

diver57

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I'm new in the Tec World - any opinions on metal back plates and harness vs comfort harness for double tanks?

Ignoring, for a moment, the whole 'comfort harness=failure points=you're going to die' argument...

I started off with a comfort harness. It's what I used for my first courses, it's what was most easily available to buy. It's not actually very comfortable... When I switched to a 'hogarthian' single continuous length of webbing harness - no pads, no clips, no weird extra lengths of webbing with plastic tri-glides to allow for adjustments - I was amazed at how much more COMFORTABLE it is.

You really don't need all the extra crap you'll usually get on comfort harnesses. A single length of webbing, properly adjusted (which takes about 15 seconds), three d-rings, a crotch strap, a metal plate. Easier to use, easier to replace worn parts, more comortable to wear. Oh, and it won't make you automatically die! :-D

Much of whether you want an aluminum or stainless backplate is going to be based on trim. The tanks play the largest factor in that decision. With double steel tanks (I.E. HP100's) for instance an aluminum plate might help you trim out better. With aluminum 80's you might be better off with a stainless plate.