Correct sizing on sidemount rigs

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Dive-aholic

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
I've been teaching sidemount for a couple years or so now and I've noticed a common issue lately with students that come to me with rigs they bought from their local shops before coming to class. Every single rig that was bought before arriving for class has been too small. Unfortunately, there are many shops out there that carry the gear but don't do the dives. There are many instructors out there that became sidemount instructors in the same weekend they became sidemount divers. I even had a student recently who told me he had taken a sidemount course from a local instructor and when he asked him about how to configure something on his rig the instructor's response was, "You'll have to play with it and just figure it out." If that's the case, then why bother taking a class??

Anyway, a recent case had a student arrive with a Nomad that was 2 sizes too small for him. The d-rings were on top of his shoulders and there was no way to fix it. He bought it from one of the online stores that sells the gear but doesn't dive that particular gear. Unfortunately, my student had already had his rig in the water so he can't return it. He did have to buy a new rig, though. There just wasn't anything I could do with the rig he had. Hopefully, he can get back most of his money selling it.