Pause breathing to control buoyancy

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

theLeakyMask

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I am a newbie diver and still figuring out good techniques for controlling buoyancy. One thing that works for me is to pause breathing (either with full or empty lungs) for 1 - 2 seconds to move up or down a little bit. But I read / heard many times that is it not good to hold or skip breath. Is what I am doing potentially dangerous or is taking a short pause different from holding breath? Thanks!

Rule number one of scuba diving - Breath continuously and never hold your breath. To control your buoyancy with your breathing. keep your lungs more or less full, but don't ever hold your breath. It's more of a timing thing. If you want more air in your lungs, you breath quicker when your lungs are empty, and slower when they are more full.

Many of us "pause" our breathing to rise or fall. What is critically important is that expanding gas have a free path to exhaust from the lungs. If you hold your breath like most people on land do, you close your glottis, and expanding gas cannot exit. That closure is strong enough that the expanding gas will rip the lungs because it cannot get out.

To feel the difference, as you are sitting at your computer, take a deep breath. Now breathe very shallowly in and out, with the lungs that full. That's an open glottis.