A Potential Case For Wrist Mounted Computer?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

SkyAndSea

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi ScubaBoard,

I'm a newbie diver, having recently completed Open Water, and doing Advanced Open Water this coming weekend.

I've been knocking back and forth the comparisons for console and wrist mount computer. A potential case for wrist mounted just ran across my mind, and I'm interested to know if its a valid comparison. Alternatively, maybe this situation is a non-issue with console computers altogether and isn't really worth comparing.

The scenario I'm thinking of is the out of air emergency. I give my octo to the distressed diver, get into a right handed Roman handshake and we start ascending with my left hand ready on my deflator button and above my head. Now, If i have a console computer i'm not in a position to easily monitor the ascent (because I have no free hands) and the OOA diver may be too distressed to provide depth/ascent rate information (their arms will be busy anyway doing the same thing). However, If i had my computer mounted on my left wrist I could monitor it easily with my raised left arm.

Had I had a console computer I just don't see an easy way to monitor that ascent. Also, my air supply permitting, we could still make a safety stop, and being newbie divers - probably will need to aggressively monitor our depth at the stop to keep from popping up or sinking.

Everything just seems easier with the wrist mount. I'd love to hear some feedback on this.