fins, fins so many fins.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

idoair

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I've been diving since 2009 and have been using split fins. Our dive shop closed and we went to another shop for a rescue diver course and the instructor was really down on split fins. Since these are all I know. Are there any suggestions:depressed:

If that is what you are used to and prefer ask the instructor why and if the answer is not to your liking look for another class.

I agree with EastEndDiver, but if for some reason you can't go to another shop (or don't want to), find out if they'll let you try out different fins during the course. If they say no and insist you do the course in non-splits, I'd go elsewhere. FWIW, I use Mares Avanti Quattros.

I've been ...using split fins. ... the instructor was really down on split fins. Since these are all I know. Are there any suggestions...

Take the rescue course, use your split fins. If the instructor seems down, you might suggest Prozac for the little fella.

Why would it matter if the instructor was down on split fins? He wont let you take the course because he doesnt like them? Did he give you a reason?

That just sounds lame. Splt or not they do the same thing. Use what you like. I have tried both and notice little difference between them. My dive buddy swears by split fins. Neither of us are right... because its just preference.