Diving off of your own boat

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

fdarden

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
I live on the water about 10 minutes from the Ocean. Although I have been boating for a long time, and diving for a while as well, I have never had the courage to do "real" dives off of my personal boat. Its definitely dive worthy, and big enough to support probably six divers. I have over 15 years experience as a fishing captain. I know my vessel well. What I don't know well is diving off my vessel. My concern is multiple. My first concern is safety. I know CPR, however I don't have much experience administering Oxygen, and other life saving techniques that I assume the crew of the charters has. On that note I am also unsure of what sort of safety equipment beyond first aid, and I assume O2, I would need on board. My second concern is having proper crew on board and where to find them and how to vet them out. Obviously it would not be smart to leave the boat unattended while we all dive. It seems like I would want a captain for sure, and possibly a dive master or at least a captain capable of both. How do other boat owners normally do this? I feel like I am missing a big opportunity not diving off my boat, but I want to feel safe and confident doing so. Those of you that do crew your boat, what do you typically pay? Or do you trade off diving for crewing, or what?

I have heard of instances where a person was tending to the boat but not really as familiar