How is the agility of a SM rig?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

the Hermit

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I spent a few hours searching the forum, but didn't find a straight forward answer to my concern. A little hesitant to intrude here, since I have no SM experience.

I looks like the flatter, wider profile improves stability, reduces entaglement, and makes equipment access easier. Looks like a really Zen rig that would be excellent in penetrations and careful explorations.

However, I am also wondering how SM works in strong currents and more aerobatic styled diving? It looks more stable, however, does the inherent stablity fight you if you need to hold an off-camber/off-axis position? If you are in strong current and looking to duck behind cover quickly, does it move with you well?

Basically, just how well does the SM rig weld to your body, so that you can actively move with grace, speed, and comfort?

The videos I've seen so far are all mellow close up explorations. Can you direct me to videos of SM divers who are doing more dynamic dives, that require greater flexibility, and more unusual attitudes (body placement, not mental...:wink:)?

I am considering if a SM rig can replace my BM for my tropical, mostly for fun dive trips? It sure would be cool to have a Tec rig that travelled well, and could be used in a wider variety of dive styles... PNG to Palau to Truk...

thanks... Don

Last edited: