A Rescue tip (Reminder) to those who freedive

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

blackvans1234

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I am not a freediver, but more of a scuba diver. However I am a healthcare professional who is certified in CPR and AED use. Now the thing I'd like to preach to those of you here, is the importance of the head tilt chin lift of the ''blacked out'' diver. If someone has gone unconscious, mouth to mouth may be necessary to help the victim breathe. If the head is not tilted back, the airway may not be open, and so air will not pass down the trachea (windpipe) into the lungs. I'm not going to get into any of the technical jargon, but know this- This reminder to those of you trained is not theory, is proven. Want me to prove it?
I knew you would!
Freediver blackout surface video - YouTube