Dive boat wear Key Largo area

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scallop

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Yes I am a total newb so please forgive any silly questions. Myself and my son will be diving with Capt. Slates on Dec 22 and 23 to complete our certifications two dives each day. My wife and two daughters will be tagging along as snorkelers or watchers on the boat.

I have heard that it can be a bit chilly between dives and on the ride out and back. Should we bring jackets or large towels or do Slates's boats provide any cover ups or is there an inside area on the boat to keep warm?

This is our first boat trip of this sort and want to make sure it is a pleasant one, nothing worse than freezing!

Just thought of another one. Do they provide any food/beverages on the boat or do you bring your own?

Captain Slate's will provide cold water, paper cups and a cooler full of ice for anything you want to bring. You can get a lunch from Shipwrecks to take along if you ask ahead of time.. It includes a sandwich, soft drink, bag of chips and piece of fruit for $8, I think. Check the website: Captain Slate's Atlantis Dive Center, Key Largo, FL

Alternatively, you can go to the Winn Dixie and get a BIG sandwich from the deli for $5 and take your own drink. I like to have a COLD gatorade waiting on me :) There is an inside area on-board where you can escape the wind and chill as needed. (although it is WARM TODAY!!!)