Tip for OW classes? [Archive] - ScubaBoard - Scuba Diving Forum - Diving Social Network

View Full Version : Tip for OW classes?

Sponsored Link

wahooinit
December 18th, 2011, 12:57 AM
My girlfriend is getting certified and her instructor told them to tip the DM 20% of the course fee on the last day. Thats $60. She told me the DM has done nothing other than bring water to the dive. The OW dives are at a local pond about an acre in size and there are only 6 in the class.

This seems a little strange to me. I worked as a DM through college and never got tipped on OW classes...

TSandM
December 18th, 2011, 01:22 AM
As a DM who assists in OW classes, I think that instructor has done something lovely.

Maybe the students feel that the DM has only brought water. But is there an entrance fee for the site? The DMs have probably paid it themselves. Did the DMs help out in the pool? I'll bet they weren't paid for that. Did the DMs schlep gear for the students or instructors? Are they keeping records, and helping students put their gear together, and keeping a weather eye on things that aren't assembled right or that might cause trouble?

Even the shore support DMs give up a day of their time to help. The students might not recognize all the things they do, and probably don't realize that it's likely that no one but the primary instructor for the class is getting any recompense for being involved.

My husband encourages his students to tip the DMs. I don't care if they tip me, because I'm working on an agreement with my husband. But I think it's awfully nice to do something to recognize the other volunteers, whether it's money or a small gift or even a card.

Slater
December 18th, 2011, 01:42 AM
When I recently took ow, dm went along on every cert dive & was there to overlook things for your safety while instructor focused on required drills.
Thats not, "dm did nothing"
Yes, I didnt tip but I didnt know any better..