Ambon in Jul-Aug (rainy season)? Other suggestions for Indo this summer...+

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cephalopod2

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
I'm trying to decide on an itinerary for Indonesia Jul-Aug 2012 (rainy season in Ambon) and hoping for advice.

Basically I've been itching to get to Ambon for more than 2 yrs and work makes the summer the easiest option for an extended (4 week) Indo trip. However Jun-Aug is rainy season in Ambon. I have found trip reports on Ambon for other months, but nothing on rainy season. I did see Luko's post suggesting May is the end of muck season - the water gets warmer and some wildlife goes deeper...or maybe elsewhere. Luko and other experience Ambon divers?

Some starting questions...but please post any advice you might have!

- Is it 'worth' diving Ambon in Jul/Aug? Is there that much of a difference between Jul and Dec?
- What kinds of animals might be missing with the rain/warmer water? Rhinopias? Nudis?
- Weather stats suggest much less rain in Aug than Jun - would August be better than mid Jul (or is the water warmer in Aug)?
- Any other pros or cons of rainy season - ie more pollution in Ambon harbour (trash I can deal with, ear infections not so much)?

This would be my 5th Indo trip. I absolutely adore Komodo (5 trips in 4 years) but am looking to branch out. If Ambon does not seem smart, I could do Lembeh instead (dove only once in Aug 08), but I thought summer wasn`t the perfect time for Lembeh either.