Regulator freeflow? How to deal with this?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Cosmographer

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
After reading the Near Misses forum (great learning tool for noobs, imo), it occurred to me that I ought to post a question about what I guess is called regulator freeflow. As a noob myself, I've been on 9 dives with 4 different operators in 4 different countries. I mention this because despite having so few dives under my belt, I've had regulator freeflow issues with 3 out of the 4 operators (all rented equipment).

First, let me make sure I understand the term "freeflow" properly. This is when the 2nd stage gushes out air despite the user not inhaling, right? So I've had this happen twice when we were checking gear on shore and twice while floating in the water (either at the beginning or the end of the dive).

It was not cold, and I would think regulator maintenance wouldn't be the likely culprit since it happened with 3 different operators, all in different countries. But whatever the cause may be, if I have this happen again, what should I do? Our DM/Instructor seemed to slap the mouthpiece against their palm to get it to stop. On one occasion (maybe 2) this didn't work, and they turned the valve off and on to get thee regulator working again. One time, they swapped out the regulator.