Medical conditions preventing diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

FPDocMatt

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
There is a notice on the Sunset House web site saying that they do not allow anyone who has or has ever had asthma to dive there.

This seems a bit extreme to me. As a physician, I know that there are very mild forms of asthma. I don't quite understand why this would rule out scuba diving. Of course, if someone's asthma were acting up, I could see the danger.

One condition that comes to mind that absolutely rules out diving, though, is seizure disorder. That one's a no-brainer. Even someone who hasn't had a seizure in 10 years could have one at any time, and that of course would be fatal.

Other medical conditions that come to mind which might be dangerous include coronary artery disease, congestive heart failure, and emphysema. But here again, I would say that they're relatively contraindicated, because you could have had a bypass operation which makes your risk of a heart attack quite small, and you could have mild emphysema.

Are there other medical conditions which are a matter of concern?

Pfft @ Asthma ruling out diving. Tell them to pull their heads in. I don't believe there is a single documented case where a diver was injured or killed because of asthma

Divers Alert Network