Mares Abyss 22 Reg with Apollo bio filter

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mgreen167

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I am new to diving, so pardon my lack of diving jargon. I have 8 dives, and i've had a bloody nose on most of them. I think its a combination of the allergy medication drying my sinuses, and the dry air from the tank. I tend to equalize my ears by swallowing, which I find hard to do with a really dry mouth. So, I ordered the Apollo bio filter. I was wondering if anybody uses this with the Mares Abyss 22 regulator? If so, are you using the 1/2 inch setup. I intially purchased the 3/8's setup because thats what was recommended to me. After contacting Mares, I was told by a tech that the first stage had a fitting that didn't allow anything but the reg hose to be attached. Can anybody refute this?

First, you should have gotten the 1/2" Bio, but since you already have it, head down to your LDS and see if they can fix you up with 1/2" to 3/8" adapters . . . if they fit, Mares is full of crap, if not, they are right. For that matter, if you can swap your Bio for the 1/2" version, and see if it fits, that will tell you as well.

Myself, I can't imagine why it would not fit - the idea behind thread standards is so that things *WILL* be compatible, and not to do goofy proprietary (stupid) things . . .

- Tim

Last edited:
Don't know about Mares being "full of crap".......the 1/2" MR 22 LP port has a tube sticking out in the middle of it, probably something to do with the DFC thingy.