Is the instructor's behavior normal?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

CCC3

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I was on a dive in the BVI and made it very clear I was a beginner. I asked the PADI licensed dive instructor to keep an eye on me. I often found he quite a ways ahead and once out of sight. The group was only 2 people so keeping an eye on us should not have been a problem. I was following him back to the boat and thought we were surfacing. I had him come up to me and grab the back of my BCD and swim down faster than I could equalize. He later said he did not mean to swim down... but he did say I was too close to the surface and did not let me know by signs or anything to swim downward before he grabbed me. He was behind me and I was flailing as he drug me down ward and I shook my right hand back and forth in the water. Is this actionable... ? I don't believe I sustained any long lasting effects but my ears sure hurt as I went down. There was no appology and no asking about if I was ok. It was almost said with a smile... "Like I am going to say I didn't mean to but.... Smile..."
Is this something instructors do?