Gearing up and Training for Cavern/Basic Cave

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

victorzamora

Contributor
Reaction score
Hey guys, this is my first time posting in the Tech Diving Specialties (I think)...but I finally have a good reason to. Two buddies and I just signed up for Cavern and Basic Cave with Jeff Loflin in Vortex Springs in late October. Problem is, I need to get quite a bit of stuff squared away before I head down there and embarrass myself in front of someone like Jeff Loflin. Also, I want to get stuff squared away so I can get the most out of the course, survive, and be allowed to take the course. His requirements are here. Anyway, I'm looking for advice on setup, gear, and pre-training Training tips. As far as gear is concerned, I've got a Hollis Elite2, S38, and Alu backplate. I've got a Hollis DC1/212 and am getting a DC3/212 as soon as they come in to stock. I'm also about to order a Hollis FX100 unless someone has other recommendations. As far as gear goes, I need a mask, fins, lights (3), reel, liftbag, and slate. I get a discount on Hollis, Oceanic, and Lavacore products.