Rig/self weighting

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

KneeDeep

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hello all,
Yes, I am just starting out, but I like the tech set up. I am currently working on my bouncy and weighting and have many questions. For what it's worth, I dive dry with HP steel tanks (singles only).

I keep reading "a balanced rig". Here is my question. Does this mean the BP/W or BP/W and Diver or BP/W and Diver separately balanced?

After watching this video (Frog Kick & Buoyancy Control skill - YouTube), the diver removed this doubles. I couldn't tell if he had a weight belt or harness, but his body didn't move (sink if wearing a weight belt)

Lets say that for what ever reason, a diver needed to ditch his BP/W, wouldn't you only want to have just enough weight on you (no gear, just dry suit) to be neutrally buoyant?

Now lets say, you do ditch the BP/W, wouldn't your gear sink?

Any help would be great on this matter to properly weigh my self and/or my BP/W, so looking for weighting configurations options.

Hello all,
Yes, I am just starting out, but I like the tech set up. I am currently working on my bouncy and weighting and have many questions. For what it's worth, I dive dry with HP steel tanks (singles only).

Bouncy with steel tanks = painful

I keep reading "a balanced rig". Here is my question. Does this mean the BP/W or BP/W and Diver or BP/W and Diver separately balanced?