BCD troubles

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

GlowWorm

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
So I'm new to this sport and I still need to purchase all my gear. First on my list is to buy a BCD and regulator but I just don't know all the pros and cons to them! There are so many different kinds. What are the best brands? I've been browsing craigslist but since I'm still a novice I don't want to get cheated. What are some key things I should look for when buying a BCD and a regulator? I already know I like the jacket style but that's about all I know!

I'm working on a college student budget. My biggest downfall, this is a very expensive sport!

Glowworm, Yes, it can be an expensive initial investment, especially if on a budget. What I would suggest is to rent for a little while, try out different types of BC's & regulators & figure out what you like (at the same time save away for the purchase). With scuba it is possible to do it on a budget, you just have to figure out what type of diving you plan to do, what you want to fulfill your needs & to do a little research. With a little effort, you should be able to come out with what you want/ need at a price you can afford.