Sidemount on a Liveaboard... Musings on my trip on the Rocio del Mar

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

The Chairman

Chairman of the Board
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
I have been sidemounting in caves for at least five years now, mostly with big, heavy steel tanks. But since my move here to Key Largo, I have not used my sidemount rig that much since I am going off of a boat. I just didn't trust the sling style I was using to support the valve end of the tank to hold if I splashed off the back. You can read a bit about my modifications to resolve this in the thread Choker Clip Solutions. Well, I tried them here at home first, but walking in off the shore at Canon Beach. I really liked them, but I never got the chance to go off of a boat... until Elena's birthday trip on the Rocio del Mar in the Sea of Cortez.

Packing... This was easy. I put all the stuff I thought I would need, including extra zip ties, and while I had bought BIGGER hose clamps, just in case, I still managed to leave them at home by mistake. Still, my Zeagle Frankenrig, two Hog regs (their newest, with the left hand feed second stage), two tank harnesses, fins, boots, lights, camera and wetsuit all fit into my little bag and weighted well under 50 pounds. Coolness. Oh yeah, I even put in two yoke adapters just in case they didn't have DIN.