Help a noob : buying my first snorkel gear set - What are the "good" brands?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

2JZGTE

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,

Like the title states, I'm a noob but I fell in love with snorkeling lately and I'm looking for a good set for occasional snorkeling (1-2 times a year). Budget is not clearly set but I already have the snorkels and am only looking for mask and fins.

Saw Promate (Force, Wave, Pace) which seem cheaper... but are they good for the price?

Please advise on anything I need to know or any other brand you would suggest (keeping in mind I don't want a high-end gear)!

Thanks!
2JZGTE

PS : forgot to mention I'm in Montreal so probably buying online...

You can pick-up a decent Aqualung set from Sports Chalet.

Love the username... I will have a Supra one day!

Thanks mfox007... I'm from Montreal, so shopping online. I'll check ebay/amazon.

How does Aqualung compare to Promate?

And yeah, the Supra is my dream car too :)

I'm kind of a noob, so I cant really comment on the Promate. The little research I have done shows Aqualung to be one of the top brands. I will be picking up a Aqualung BCD and reg here in the near future.

I recently took a weekend trip to San Diego, and forgot my gear at home. Went and picked-up a Aqualung snorkel set at a local shop to due some light snorkeling out in Mission Beach. Worked perfect for me.