SMS 50 review

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DA Aquamaster

Directional Toast
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
2500 - 4999
I had been considering a more minimalist sidemount system since DEMA two years ago and considering it even harder since a cave diving trip to Mexico last year where my Nomad was overkill with 2 AL 80s and a stage.

I have been diving a Nomad and while it does everything ok and will carry a lot of weight (a pair of steel 95s, two stages and a deco bottle if I ease up on the bungees constricting the upper portion of the wing) it is a little bulky for some of the SM diving we are migrating to.

I like the razor concept, but I also wanted a small wing and quite frankly I like a small tail plate. I was leaning toward a razor clone and then planned to add a DR tech tail plate.

However, on this just completed most recent trip to cave country I bought an SMS 50 as it was basically what I wanted - a minimalist razor style harness with a fairly streamlined 25 pound bladder and a small tail plate.

I used it on dive three of our three dive days (which were shorter dives well suited to twin AL 72s). I found it to be very easy to set up and it trimmed out in the water perfectly, needing no more than about 20 minutes of futzing from package to water in order to set up and tune for my particular needs. It was incredibly fun to dive in the water and is very liberating compared to a larger SM rig like the Nomad or SMS 100.