Another 'what should I get' post

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

kixy1

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I'll make this short and sweet. I've been diving some old Aeris for around 10 years. I'm looking for a new computer because it doesn't give me a few things I want. Nothing wrong with mine, other than it won't die so I can truly justify replacing it!

Here's my wish list:

1) SIMPLE and easy to use

2) EASY to read...I have mature eyes

3) Automatically turns on when it gets wet. This I must have, mine doesn't. Nuff said?

4) Nitrox capable

5) Safety stop timer. Again, don't have this, want it.

6) Easy to find/push buttons. I can't remember what brand I borrowed from a friend, but the buttons were so tiny I couldn't hardly find them, forget about pushing them

7) I want to be able to customize or just turn off annoying audible alarms

8) Do I need to say price? I don't want all the bells and whistles...I'm even willing to compromise on some of my wish list, so please don't suggest some $1200 computer set up. Don't even suggest a $700 one.

I really don't care about computer interface, or air integration (is that a mistake?)

I could suggest a computer that meets nearly all you requirements with:

A very user friendly and intuitive interface, where you can (literally) figure out all the menus and functions in about 10 minutes without ever opening a manual.