PDA

View Full Version : YS-D1 or UFL-2 Strobe for XZ-1



webstep1
December 27th, 2012, 01:22 PM
I am trying to decide on an upgraded strobe for my XZ-1 / PT-050. I am having trouble determining which strobes work well with the XZ-1 and can use TTL or RC mode.

I currently have the XZ-1 in the Olympus PT-050 housing and a Sealife SL961 and PTWC-01 wide angle lens. I would like to add a second strobe that will work in RC Mode and then fire the SL961 for fill light as a slave to the first strobe if possible. Since RC Mode will not work with the SL961, I need to daisy chain the strobes instead of 2 cables from the housing.

I have an FL-36 land flash and it is a great flash - the UFL-2 is the same internals and from what I can tell the UFL-2 works well in RC mode but with just 2 AA batteries cycle time is slow. I have not been able to confirm if the UFL-2 has a second fiber optic port for a slave flash.

Does anyone know if the UFL-2 can control a slave flash via fiber optic output (2 optical connections)? The XZ-1 is not that fast shooting RAW+JPG, is the UFL-2 recycle time that slow to be a problem?

The Sea & Sea YS-D1 looks like a very nice compact strobe but I cannot find much information on it's compatibility with the Olympus XZ-1. Their site states Slave-TTL mode will work but I cannot find much explanation on Slave-TTL mode.

Does anyone have any experience with the YS-D1 and XZ-1, does it work well? Is there anyother strobes that are known to work well with the XZ-1?

Thanks for the help.

coralcruiser
December 27th, 2012, 02:22 PM
I used the Inon S2000 with my XZ-1 and have been pleased with the results. I have heard that there may be issues with the S+S strobes and this camera

guyharrisonphoto
December 27th, 2012, 03:36 PM
Yes check carefully. I had an xz-1 and got rid of it quick because it would not sync with my ys-01s which cost more than the camera. The ys-01s and now my new ys-D1s work fine with my e-pl2 and now my om-d with TTL optical sync, but the xz-1 had something weird about the sync with sea and sea strobes.

coralcruiser
December 27th, 2012, 04:12 PM
This camera works well with the Inon and Ikelite strobes in either manual or s-ttl modes.

webstep1
December 27th, 2012, 04:29 PM
Thanks, I had read about the problems with the YS-01 and Sea & Sea's compatibility (http://www.seaandsea.jp/products/strobe/compatibilitychart/a.html) page indicates a firmware update is needed. I was hoping that updates would be rolled into later units or at least into the YS-D1 since it looks like a very nice strobe - the compatibility page indicates DS-TTL II is not possible but S-TTL works but I am having trouble figuring out what S-TTL on the YS-D1 gives me.

---------- Post added December 27th, 2012 at 04:40 PM ----------


This camera works well with the Inon and Ikelite strobes in either manual or s-ttl modes.

I was looking at the Inon D-2000 as well but GN20 is fairly low and there was a compatibility note that TTL does not work with manual flash, using 1/64th in manual is for cycle time and battery life.

coralcruiser
December 27th, 2012, 06:28 PM
I can't speak for the inon d2000 but when shooting the xz-1 in manual mode, the flash must be set to force or full (can't remember what the wording is). You cannot set the flash to different power settings when shooting in manual and having the strobe set to s-ttl. If you want to use various power levels you need to shoot the strobe in manual

JackConnick
December 28th, 2012, 12:34 AM
The YS-D1 works fine with the XZ-1. The UFL-2 does not work in RC mode, even though the camera has it.

timthefish
December 28th, 2012, 08:07 AM
i have a ys 110 alpha strobe and it works fine in manual mode, i have the camera in manual mode with the internal flash set to 1/64 power, this helps conserve power and recycle time. Unlike a previous poster that stated you cannot set the flash power in manual mode, you can do it. S & S strobes seem to struggle with TTL , but my 110 alpha fires everytime in manual mode. The YS D 1 is reported to work in TTL with the xz1. Manual is fine for my needs I haven't used TTL for a good while. For my money I'd go with a YS 02 as it is the same as a ys01 but with no focus/aiming light, the aiming light is for the most part useless as the strobe rarely points where is trying to fucus. I'd get a ys 02 and use it in manual and get a focus light. The only reason i have a ys 110 is because i already had it before i had the xz1.

coralcruiser
December 28th, 2012, 10:15 AM
i have a ys 110 alpha strobe and it works fine in manual mode, i have the camera in manual mode with the internal flash set to 1/64 power, this helps conserve power and recycle time. Unlike a previous poster that stated you cannot set the flash power in manual mode, you can do it. .

You did not read my response correctly. What I said was that you cannot have the internal flash set to different power levels if you want to use the strobe set to ttl.

If you want to manually set your strobe, you can set the camera's internal flash to whatever power you want.

webstep1
December 28th, 2012, 10:38 AM
The YS-D1 works fine with the XZ-1. The UFL-2 does not work in RC mode, even though the camera has it.

Does the YS-D1 only work fine in S-TTL or in the new DS-TTL II? I found this review (http://www.uwphotographyguide.com/ys-d1-strobe-review) of the YS-D1 and the conclusion was "results were spotty with the Olympus XZ-1".

The UFL-2 statement has me confused since the UFL-2 manual talks about RC Mode, it is basically an FL-36R land flash in a SnS housing and there have been a couple reviews talking about using RC Mode with 43 (http://www.wexphotographic.com/blog/olympus-ufl-2-strobe-review) bodies and the XZ-1 (http://www.scubaboard.com/forums/olympus-outlet/386079-reference-xz-1-pt-50-ufl-2-strobe.html). RC mode should work.

---------- Post added December 28th, 2012 at 08:22 PM ----------

I got a chance to play with a friend's Inon S-2000. It worked well in every flash mode I threw at it, I just with it had some more power.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2

coralcruiser
December 28th, 2012, 08:44 PM
If you want a little more power, than consider the Inon D2000

webstep1
December 28th, 2012, 09:51 PM
If you want a little more power, than consider the Inon D2000

The D2000 is basically the same output as the S2000. I like the features of the D2000 (semi-auto based off aperture looks slick) but at the same price as the YS-D1 it is a full stop darker. I emailed SnS but they have not replied to confirm function with the XZ-1, so I may well go with the D2000.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2

coralcruiser
December 28th, 2012, 10:09 PM
Best bet would be to simply call Reef Photo and talk with them. They sell both Inon and S&S, as well olympus. I've bought several pieces of equipment through them for the past few years and they are great to deal with!

JackConnick
December 29th, 2012, 12:12 AM
I don't have any XZ-1s left, but we tried it in D-TTL with the YS-D1 and if was fine. No, RC mode does not work with it and the UFL-2 for some reason. Most all of this has been rectified with the excellent, new XZ-2.

Jack

CliffWarner
December 30th, 2012, 11:14 AM
Jack,

I have the XZ-2 and PT-054 housing and am looking for an underwater strobe. I am inclined to get the UCL-2 for how it should work with the XZ-2. Based on tests with my FL36R, the flash control is excellent in the XZ-2. I understand the two battery limitation on recycle times and can live with that for now. Would you go with the UCL-2 or another flash? Is there any word on a new Olympus strobe based on the FL600R?

buton
January 4th, 2013, 11:46 PM
I use my xz-1 with two Ys 02 strobes, pretty easy to use it takes me no more than three shots to adjust the lighting for a good exposure, I have no problem at all.
I will post next week my pictures from my trip to coiba

JackConnick
January 5th, 2013, 02:36 AM
Cliff;

No new strobes coming from Olympus. Not sure if RC mode would work with the XZ-2/UFL-2; it didn't with the XZ-1, but they have improved a lot of functions in the new camera.

I think the UFL-2 is very under-powered, large and has power limitations. It is not really an Olympus product; it was developed partially by Inon and Panasonic, many year ago now. The strobe technology has moved way beyond it now, for that kind of money I'd buy a YS-D1 in a minute and have twice the power and very good TTL.

I think shooting these small compacts in manual strobe/manual camera settings really gives the best speed and performance. The camera recycles so much faster.

These were taken with one YS-110a and the XZ-1.

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6002/6201380892_6e493d038d_z.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/opticalocean/6201380892/)
Big Ass Ugly Lingcod (http://www.flickr.com/photos/opticalocean/6201380892/) by Pixel Letch (http://www.flickr.com/people/opticalocean/), on Flickr


http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6151/6193410225_82ba1a8ab8_z.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/opticalocean/6193410225/)
Three Spined Shrimp.2 (http://www.flickr.com/photos/opticalocean/6193410225/) by Pixel Letch (http://www.flickr.com/people/opticalocean/), on Flickr

CliffWarner
January 6th, 2013, 10:26 AM
Thanks for the recommendation Jack. I guess that I would like to have clear understanding of compatibility between an XZ-2 and YS-D1 before investing in a YS-D1 due to the issues with the XZ-1.

CliffWarner
January 7th, 2013, 08:52 PM
Sea & Sea got back to me today and they had just posted new compatibility charts which show that the XZ-2 is fully compatible with the YS-D1 and YS-01. Similar story from Inon, so it seems like Olympus got it right with the XZ-2. Now decisions, decisions...

webstep1
January 7th, 2013, 09:21 PM
I ended up going with an Inon D-2000. It arrived today, my first impression is very positive.


Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2

CliffWarner
January 8th, 2013, 06:55 AM
I decided on a YS-D1. Should get it in a couple of days.


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1