Which lense to start DSLR underwater photography?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jimbolaya

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi,

I'm a beginner in DSLR underwater photography and I need an advice for my DSLR setup for underwater photography. I've used my old Casio Exilim S600 with an underwater housing for over 8 years. Now I would instead like to take my Nikon D5100 DSLR (yes, "only" an entry level DSLR) underwater and I consider buying an underwater housing for my upcoming diving holiday (Panama, starting mid April).

Currently my only lense which would fit into the underwater housing's lense port, is the Nikkor 35mm 1.8G (my Sigma 18-250mm F3.5-6.3 OS HSM wouldn't fit into the lense port). Would the Nikkor 35mm be an ideal solution to start DSLR underater photography? Or would I regret that and should rather buy another new lense (which one)?

Any hints are highly appreciated!

Regards, Jan

P.s. I like to shoot close-ups of fishes and macros of smaller things (nudibranches etc.) and short videos. I don't yet favour shooting wide angles - maybe on my next diving holiday...

I would recommend you get a 60mm macro lens, maybe also a 1.4x teleconverter. That should be good to start with.

I would recommend you get a 60mm macro lens, maybe also a 1.4x teleconverter. That should be good to start with.

Thanks! May I ask you: what kind of photos can I take with such a 60mm macro that I cannot take with my 35mm?