First DPV!?!?! Buying Used or New

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ermaclob

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
So I've been feeling the itch for a while now pushing me to get a scooter. i have very little knowledge on DPVs and how they work, so dont feel 100% on getting one untill i understand what it is to look for. if anyone can point out some important to know thing about them that would be great.

i am of course under a budget, and am considering finding a used one if the price and quality match. what are things to look out for when buying used. im mostly worried about finding replacement parts etc. im looking on putting down like $1500. i understand this is hilariously low of a budget and buying new is most likely not happening lol.

are there any recommended models that go for close to that price? they only real thing i would like in a DPV would be that it have a long run time and can pull me in full tech gear. size is not that big of a worry.

We are on our first season with our scooters and absolutely love them. You should find a nice Mako for under $1500 and more like $1000. You might want to check with TDS and CDF for some used scoots. There always seem to be more of them for sale on there. Good luck and enjoy the new toy when you get it.

I think you need to give more details about how you would use it.

What's a "long run time" ? 30 minutes ? 2 hours ??

Also, how deep are you going. Makos are only good to 130.