Dive Operator for Advanced Divers in Maui

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi,
I am planning to be in Maui between September 30 and October 4 for a 5 days, and planning to have dives for 2 days. This is my first time in Maui and advised to dive in Lanai, Molokini and Turtle Reef. As I have been never dived in Maui before, I would like to explore best diving sites there but do not want experience only Hammerhead or drift sites, etc. before as advanced dives. I will stay in Kaanap'ali and prefer to nearest dive shops.

When I have investigated dive shops near; there are Lahaina Divers and Extended Horizons and also on Khiei Mike Severns.

I am Rescue Diver and have about 100 dives, so my buoyancy and air consumption is very well. I am planning to take reg, mask, light and computer of my equipment only. I am searching for dive operators for advanced divers. I dive almost around 100-120 feet with a 50 minutes.

I have read a lot from forums and web, as Extended Horizons boat is small and not comfy for Lanai. Lahaina Divers says they have maximum depth 65 feet and 35 minutes, whether you have air left in tank or not. As an advanced diver I don't want to dive with beginners as their air consumption is almost not well.

A little bit confused in that situation. Depth is not problem but if I end dive with a half tank I feel like I will be not happy as I will pay for a half dive about $60 which is too expensive against Europe or south east like Indonesia.