Can a Hawaii based diver do me a non-diving favor?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jbark

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi all,

I am a professor at a community college and among the courses that I teach is geology. Each semester when we talk about volcanism the topic of lavas come up. My students always want to see the difference between AA and Pahoehoe.

Any chance one of you would be able to collect a sample of each and mail it to me? I would of course send you the postage, and a t-shirt from the college as a thank you gift.

If you could help out it would be great.

thanks
Jerry

By way of passing the buck, you might want to contact someone from the geology faculty at the University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo:
Geology Faculty

I’m not confident in my ability to differentiate nor that I could find a ready source of pāhoehoe.

My understanding of ʻaʻā and pāhoehoe is they are very similar except for the outer surface/texture.

Hint: Have it sent to your department's bete noir, the one who's always a PITA at department meetings. ;-)

447.jpg

Here are some pictures for you - I didn't take a single speck back to the mainland - as beautiful as Pele was all I have are pictures.

448.jpg451.jpg428.jpg431.jpg469.jpg468.jpg480.jpg