Dive dry with dr. Bill #574: Elephant seals: Back from the brink

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

drbill

The Lorax for the Kelp Forest
Scuba Legend
Rest in Peace
Reaction score
# of dives
2500 - 4999
DIVE DRY WITH DR. BILL #574: ELEPHANT SEALS: BACK FROM THE BRINK

Last week I introduced my readers to the northern elephant seal (Mirounga angustirostris), the largest true seal in the northern hemisphere. I also mentioned that I'm not an expert on "milk givers" (mammals) either in the sea or on land as my training is as a kelp forest ecologist and invertebrate biologist. Actually the only marine mammal I've shown a strong interest in is the mermaid, and NOAA keeps telling me they don't exist. I'm beginning to believe them. However, as a service to my readers and those who watch my cable TV show, I thoroughly researched these seals so I could entertain you with their exploits for a few weeks.

If this species is the largest true seal in the northern hemisphere, what is the largest one down under? Why, the southern elephant seal (Mirounga leonina) of course! Males of that species may typically reach five to nearly nine thousand pounds. These are the only two species of elephant seal in the world. Unlike me, these two seals are not particularly fond of life in the tropics and prefer the cold polar regions. Yet they are closely related and must have evolved from a common ancestor.